On Monday evening, September 25, 2017, Tzedek DC is hosting an event to support our efforts in closing the justice gap for low-income D.C. residents facing debt-related legal crises.  The Eat Well, Do Justice! Tzedek DC 2017 Celebrity Chef Kugel Cook-off will be held at the newly renovated UDC Student Center Ballroom and feature five top chefs from DC presenting their unique takes on kugel. Attendees will vote on their favorite recipe along with four guest judges, including David Gregory and Joan Nathan, AnnaMaria Steward, and Marna Tucker, to decide a winner. 

Tickets, on sale now, include a taste of each kugel, heavy hors d’oeuvres, open bar, a ballot, and  screening of a six minute documentary about the impact of Tzedek DC.

Kugel Chefs

Kyle Bailey of The Salt Line 

Mike Friedman of Red Hen and All Purpose

Danny Lee of Mandu and Chiko

Alex Levin of the Schlow Restaurant Group

Pati Jinich of “Pati’s Mexican Table” 



Honorary Chair

Bonnie  Benwick, Deputy Food Editor, The Washington Post


Courtney Weiner, June Kress, Laura Kumin

Host Committee

Roy Austin, Jr. • Allyson Baker • Michael Baratz • Jonathan Cedarbaum & Alice Winkler • Jolina Cuaresma • Stephen Danzansky • Justin Dillon & Katherine Mineka • Isabel Dunst • Daniel Edelman • David Farber • Daphne Frydman & Scott Bourn •Ron & Margie Glancz • Nicole Goldstein & Franklin Rubinstein • Elizabeth Gray • Sally Greenberg • William Jaffe & Dr. Jessica Lieberman • Rachel Kronowitz & Ed Lewis • Ariel & Rachel Levinson-Waldman • Susan Liss • Nancy Long • Janet Lowenthal • David Marshall • Lorelie Masters • Samantha Mazo & Alex Gordon • Irvin Nathan & Judith Walter • Dan Neustadt & Michelle Cooper Neustadt • Thorn & Sharis Pozen • Harvey & Wendy Reiter • Thomas Riesenberg • Seth Rosenthal & Stephanie Robinson • Ken Trombly & Nancy Barskey • Rebecca Vallas • Roger & Irene Zuckerman

Eat Well Do Justice! Sponsor Listings

Titanium Sponsors

Bernard and Anne Spitzer Charitable Trust 

Platinum Sponsors

Eversheds Sutherland
Mark Kahan and Carol Mates
KaiserDillon PLLC
Irvin Nathan and Judith Walter
Thorn and Sharis Pozen

Gold Sponsors

Isabel Dunst
Goldblatt Martin Pozen LLP
Elizabeth Gray
Katz, Marshall & Banks LLP
Susan Liss and Rabbi Fred Reiner
Janet Lowenthal
Wilson Sonsini Goodrich and Rosati Foundation
Roger and Irene Zuckerman

Silver Sponsors

Bernstein Private Wealth Management
DC School of Law Foundation
Feldesman Tucker Leifer Fidell LLP
Jamie Gorelick and Richard Waldhorn
Christopher McCannell and Ven Neralla
The Morrison & Foerster Foundation
National Consumers League
Sidley Austin LLP
John Sturc

Bronze Sponsors

Allyson Baker
Dan and Lisa Bress
James Cain
Jonathan Cedarbaum and Alice Winkler
Shannon and Michael Diamant
Federation's Jewish Food Experience
Foti Creative
Daphne Frydman and Scott Bourn
Brian Haag
Andrew and Katie Herman
Hamilton Hill
Barry and Alison Hurewitz
Maya D. Hyman - REALTOR
I Support the Girls
June Kress
Laura Kumin and Kevin Mulshine
Karen Lash
Patrick McGlone and Kevin Taylor
Joe Onek
Raffa and Associates
Danny Reed
Amy Rifkind and Bruce Brown
Elizabeth and Jonathan Roos
Selzer Gurvitch Robin Wertheimer and Polott PC
Jenn Smira, Realtor / VP at Compass Real Estate
Courtney Weiner and Jason King
Rob and Cheryl Weiner
Willkie Farr & Gallagher LLP